Don’t Wanna Believe

One night watching Sportscenter I saw the clip of the “World’s longest Basketball shot” The clip of college students from Texas A&M shooting a basketball into a basketball net from the 3rd deck of Kyle field, where the football team plays. My initial reaction is that it has got to be fake, I’ve seen too many commercials and videos of stunts like this, knowing that it was setup to give you the illusion that the stunt actually worked.

But then again people have made unbelievable shots before, it has just never been caught on camera. But to actually believe that these college students spent the time to take after take after take of this shot knowing that it could be impossible to make, makes me continue to question it, especially because it was a couple of aggies setting this whole thing up.

When I looked up the video on youtube, the comments were almost exactly what I expected. Comments wondering if the video is fake or not, people explaining the physics of how and why the video is real, and then of course the constant bickering between youtubers with pointless personal attacks on each other. After reading the various comments and looking at both views, I still rather not believe that a couple of aggies have actually successfully accomplished this, being a life time Longhorn fan.

Still being skeptical and a non-believer, even though it was on Sportscenter, I decided to call up a close friend in college station how has gone to the dark side, and ask him if the creators of the video “Dude Perfect” are legit. He confirmed that it was indeed real, and that he actually knows the guys how made the video. So as of now I guess it do believe, but I’ll probably continue my skepticism with videos like that on youtube…but if it was made by some UT students it’s probably real. Oh and I’m not gonna rely on the youtube’s comments to decided if it’s a hoax.

Leave a comment